Review – Remembrance – Michelle Madow

Hy, everyone!

Thank you, Michelle, for offering this book for review, it was awsome and I’m really sorry for not posting this review earlier but I was in the middle of the exams so I didn’t have enough time ‘till this week😀

Synopsis:

Lizzie Davenport has been reincarnated from Regency Era, England … but she doesn’t know it yet.

Then Drew Carmichael transfers into Lizzie’s high school at the beginning of the year, and she feels a connection to him, almost like she knows him. She can’t stop thinking about him, but whenever she tries talking with him about the mysteries behind her feelings, he makes it clear that he wants nothing to do with her. Reaching him is even more difficult because she has a boyfriend, Jeremy, who has started to become full of himself after being elected co-captain of the varsity soccer team, and her flirtatious best friend Chelsea starts dating Drew soon after his arrival. So why can’t she get him out of her mind?

Even though Lizzie knows she should let go of her fascination with Drew, fighting fate isn’t going to be easy

Review:

So, first thing I got to say is that this book makes me think at Damnation (Lauren Kate), but it’s a lot better. While Damnation was awfull, Remembrance it’s well written and is not getting slower and slower with the action.

In the prologue, Madow gives us a glimpse of what will happen. That piqued my interest.

I like tha fact that Lizzie is not the most popular but not the looser either. She’s the average girl in highschool with a best friend and a not-so-good boyfriend. I was kind of annoyed by her at times, when she keeps agonizing over Drew. I understand the feeling–but I don’t necessarily want to hear about it for pages and pages.

I really hate Jeremy, he ruins everything and he doesn’t let Lizzie to have her own decisions. He has to be right, everytime. The only thing I can’t stand at Lizzie is that she accepts all the things he says or does. It’s annoing, at least for the first 60 pages, then you get used to it. This relationship is something normal that comes in teenagers lifes: a realtionship between best friends. But Jeremy is really selfish and I don’t like how he treats her.

Drew is probably my favorite character from Remembrance. I love how he’s so protective of Lizzie – it goes to show that he really does love and care about her. The mistakes he does make him seem stronger and more real.

Alistair was a little forced to rezolve the problem, my opinion. That’s how it looked when he came and helped Lizzie. But it’s not that important.

This book is focused on details like Lizzie’s drawings and memories.And one the things I love most about this book was the Pride and Prejudice references and parallels.

Overall, I liked this book. It made me like the ideea of „reincarnation”  after I read that horrible book by Lauren Kate.

4/5 from me😀

4

 

 

6 thoughts on “Review – Remembrance – Michelle Madow

Deci...ce parere ai?

